ArdorComm Media Group

News on Education
News on Education

BHU Approves New Scholarships and Gold Medal

-By ArdorComm News Network

Banaras Hindu University’s (BHU) academic council, chaired by Vice-Chancellor Prof. Sudhir Kumar Jain, sanctioned the introduction of 14 new merit-cum-means scholarships and one gold medal. The council deliberated on various academic and research matters, emphasizing steps to enhance overall performance and productivity. Additionally, BHU established a project monitoring unit to bolster the academic and research ecosystem.

The scholarships, initiated under the Pratidana initiative with contributions from donors, aim to support deserving students. Among the approved scholarships is the introduction of the Akshaibar and Jogeshwari Giri Gold Medals, to be awarded to a second-year MBA student with the highest CGPA, starting from the academic session 2023-24.

Prof. Jain highlighted that the newly established project monitoring unit will address issues potentially impeding teaching-learning activities. The Faculties of Arts and Social Sciences will see an expansion in their operational scope.

Further scholarships approved include:

  • Mahamana Malaviya Biotechnology Scholarship for a 2nd year MSc biotechnology student (commencing from academic session 2024-25)
  • Biswanath and Meera Bhattacharya Scholarship for a 2nd year student of MA Sanskrit (commencing from academic session 2025-26)
  • Jhingan Sahu Memorial Scholarship for a 1st year student of MFA (textile design) (commencing from academic session 2024-25)
  • Two C N R Rao Scholarships for final year students of BPA (vocal music and instrumental music respectively) (commencing from academic session 2025-26)
  • Uday Pratap Scholarship for a 2nd year student of MSc (Agriculture) Mycology and Plant Pathology (commencing from academic session 2025-26)
  • J N Gupta and Savitri Devi Scholarship for a 2nd year student of MSc (physics) (commencing from academic session 2024-25)
  • Ramswaroop Jamnadevi Maheshwari Scholarship for a 1st year student of MBA (commencing from academic session 2024-25)
  • Five SGVP Swaminarayan Scholarships for students of the faculty of SVDV (effective from the academic session 2023-24)
  • Merit-cum-means scholarship for Central Hindu Girls School
  • Awadh Raj Kumar Scholarship for a class 9 student (effective from the academic session 2024-25)

Moreover, the academic council endorsed proposals to introduce new programs and courses at various affiliated colleges. Arya Mahila PG College, Vasant Kanya Mahavidyalaya, and Vasanta College for Women, Rajghat, received approvals to offer additional courses.

The council also stipulated eligibility criteria for part-time diploma or certificate courses, restricting participation to regular UG and PG students of the university and affiliated colleges. Full-time diploma courses will require specific academic prerequisites and course hours.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments