ArdorComm Media Group

Karnataka election
Karnataka election

Karnataka election results update: Congress leads in initial rounds, BJP catching up

The day of the results has arrived following intense election campaigning and record voter turnout in Karnataka. As counting begins today, all eyes are on the JDS, BJP, and Congress. Congress has jumped out to an early lead in the polls, but BJP is not far behind.

The election was peacefully concluded on May 10 with a record voter turnout of 73.19%, higher than the previous record of 72.36%.

The incumbent Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Indian National Congress (INC), and the Janata Dal (Secular) (JDS) fought it out in the election on three different sides.

The counting will take place in 36 different centres throughout the state. By noon, it should become evident what the outcome will be.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party won 104 seats in the 2018 assembly elections, making it the single-largest party. The Congress came in second with 78 seats, and the Janata Dal (Secular) came in third with 37 seats. This time around, 2,615 candidates ran for election in the 224 Assembly constituencies.

Notably, four exit polls gave the Congress party a full majority in Karnataka, and some predicted a hung assembly that would favour the party. A few exit polls also indicated that the BJP is leading in the race to form the government.

According to ECI, the Congress leads in 85 seats, the BJP in 62 seats, and the JDS in 18. Leading in two seats are independents.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments