ArdorComm Media Group

Cricket World Cup 2023 Begins Today: No Opening Ceremony, But Anticipation High for England vs. New Zealand Opener

The 2023 Cricket World Cup is commencing today, featuring a showdown between defending champions England and last edition’s runners-up New Zealand at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. While there were some initial reports suggesting the possibility of an opening ceremony preceding the tournament’s kickoff, neither the Board of Control for Cricket in India nor the International Cricket Council have confirmed any such event. As things currently stand, it appears that there won’t be an opening ceremony for the Cricket World Cup.

According to a report in the Times of India, an opening ceremony was never part of the plan for this World Cup. “There was never an opening ceremony planned for the World Cup. I can confirm that,” said an unnamed source. “In the case of the IPL, you can have a short opening ceremony since the matches start in the evening. However, in this World Cup, matches commence in the afternoon,” the source explained.

While an official opening ceremony is not on the agenda, the BCCI did organize the Captains’ Day on the eve of the England vs. New Zealand opener. During this event, all ten team captains underwent questioning by former India head coach Ravi Shastri and ex-England captain Eoin Morgan.

When asked about the trend where the hosting nations won the last three World Cups, India captain Rohit Sharma downplayed its significance. “I’m not dwelling too much on that, but yes, in the last three editions, hosting teams have emerged as World Cup winners, and we will give our all in this World Cup and savor the tournament,” Rohit stated during the World Cup 2023 Captain’s Day event.

He also expressed optimism about the tournament’s reception, saying, “People are going to love this tournament. The stadiums will be packed. Indians adore their cricket. It’s going to be a fantastic tournament.”

The opening match of the Cricket World Cup is scheduled to commence at 2:00 PM IST, with the toss taking place at 1:30 PM IST.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments